The new Ohio Energy and Convenience Association (OECA) marks the next step forward for the transportation fuels and convenience retail industry in Ohio. Borne of the strategic merger between the Ohio Petroleum Marketers and Convenience Store Association (OPMCA) and the Ohio Association of Convenience Stores (OACS), the OECA is poised to lead the industry in Ohio under the auspices of the
Ohio Council for Retail Merchants, an organization with more than 7,000 members serving Ohio’s wholesale and retail industries since 1922.

At the helm of this powerful new association stands a highly knowledgeable, experienced and dedicated Board of Directors. To members of this combined organization, some of the faces in leadership will be familiar as recognized leaders, others will be new and valued colleagues. The OECA Board currently comprises four members from the former OPMCA and the former OACS.

From OPMCA, Ryan Howard is OECA president and the chief operating officer of truenorth. Jeffrey Erb, general manager at Saneholtz-McKarns Inc. who formerly served as a Board member and past president
of OACS, assumes the role of OECA vice president. Brian Burrow, president and CEO of Campbell Oil Company and BellStores Inc., will apply his experience from the OPMCA executive committee to his role as OECA secretary. Drew Brower, who previously served on the OACS Board, is vice president of fuel operations at United Dairy Farmers and rounds out the esteemed OECA Board of Directors.

As OECA moves forward in 2022, these respected Board members will work together collaboratively to expand the Board, adding to the expertise and respected leadership representing energy and convenience in Ohio, guiding OECA into the future and providing its members with best-in-class value today.

Ryan Howard
OECA President
Chief Operating Officer, truenorth

Ryan began his career with Shell Oil Company in 1999 after graduating from Wilmington
College with a bachelor’s degree in business management. In his nearly 15 years with Shell, Ryan held positions of increasing responsibility in operations, network planning and joint ventures across most United States markets with exposure to global markets.

In 2011, Ryan joined truenorth Energy, a joint venture between Shell Oil Company and the Lyden Family. Ryan joined truenorth as their chief operating officer, now leading the 165-store company-operated business, the 255-store dealer business and the fuel transportation business, in addition to leading the company’s strategic growth initiatives. He is active in industry advocacy and previously served as the chairman of OPMCA.

Jeffery Erb
OECA Vice President
General Manager, Saneholtz-McKarns Inc.

Jeff’s career with Saneholtz- McKarns Inc. (SMCI) spans more than 30 years. Based in Bryan, Ohio, SMCI is a family-owned and locally operated company that distributes Marathon products and operates 16 Main Stop retail locations throughout northwest Ohio. SMCI prides itself on serving Ohioans in small, rural communities and building local business partnerships.

Jeff served on the OACS Board for 20 years, including part of that time as its president. He continues to serve on the Ohio Council of Retail Merchants Board. As a testament to his role in the industry, he was honored by the National Retail Federation as a “Retail Champion” in recognition of his engagement in public policy debates affecting retailers at the community, state and national levels. Outside of work, Jeff is a die-hard Green Bay Packers fan and devoted grandfather.

Brian Burrow
OECA Secretary
President and CEO, Campbell Oil Company and BellStores Inc.

In 1989, Brian began working for Campbell Oil, and in 1997 he was named as the third leader in the company’s 83-year history. Today, with 75 BellStores, 17 Subway restaurants, nine Dairy Queen restaurants and 32 car washes, the company employs more than 1,300 Ohioans and continues to grow to meet the ever-changing needs of the communities it serves.

He previously served two terms on the OPMCA Board of Directors and spent the last five years on the OPMCA Executive Committee. He was the chairman of the Fundraising Committee for the Salvation Army Advisory Board and served two terms as the Marathon Jobber Advisory Council chairman.

Brian received a B.S. in accounting from the University of Akron and is a CPA. He and his wife Julie reside on a small farm in Western Stark County; they have three sons, three daughters- in-law and one grandson.

Brad Brower
OECA Board Member
Vice President Fuel Operations, United Dairy Farmers

Drew’s career in the industry began with 20 years of experience with ExxonMobil, serving in various retail and wholesale marketing roles. For the last 16 years, he has been with United Dairy Farmers, a Cincinnati, Ohio-based retail chain operating since 1940 and serving the Ohio, Indiana and Kentucky markets. In his role as vice president of fuel operations, Drew is responsible for the fuels supply, pricing and environmental compliance for the company.

Drew graduated with a bachelor’s degree in business administration and management from Marquette University. He and his wife have two adult children.